The Chronicles of Erevis Cale

The stories of Erevis Cale begin with the Sembia Series, specifically the Halls of Stormweather and Shadow’s Witness (and if you’re not a stickler for reading in chronological order, either Twilight Falling or Shadowbred are good entry points to the Cale tales, too).

The Halls of StormweatherShadow's Witness
Click on the covers to go to, where you can read reviews and/or purchase the books.




After Shadow’s Witness, the Erevis Cale stories continue with The Erevis Cale Trilogy. The three books of The Erevis Cale Trilogy are available individually, or (in June, 2010) in a collected omnibus edition (that also includes two previously published short stories featuring Cale).


Twilight FallingDawn of NightMidnight's MaskThe Erevis Cale Trilogy
Read sample chapters of Twilight Falling




After The Erevis Cale Trilogy, the story of Cale and his companions continues with the three books of The Twilight War.

Read sample chapters of Shadowbred




Building off of the events of The Twilight War, my next Forgotten Realms novel will be titled The Godborn.


Learn more about each series and the books in them, and see larger images of the cover art, by clicking on their respective links below:

I’ve also written several Erevis Cale short stories:

Dragon issue 277Dragon issue 297Realms of the DragonsRealms of War

  • “Another Name for Dawn” Published in issue #277 of Dragon Magazine, tells the story of Erevis Cale’s flight from Westgate.
  • “All the Sinners Saints” Published in issue #297 of Dragon Magazine, it fits into the “Cale continuum” between the end of Shadow’s Witness and the beginning of Twilight Falling. (Download the free PDF.)
  • “Soulbound” Published in the anthology Realms of the Dragons, it ties in indirectly to the Erevis Cale stories.
  • “Continuum” The story of Erevis Cale and his companions continues in the tie-in anthology Realms of War.